Scaring Sweet Sofia

Dear readers, I learned of some very upsetting news this weekend.   My cousin Sofia, was the victim of a home invasion!  She’s so traumatized, that she can barely speak of the incident.  But, since we’re family, I cajoled her into opening up to me.

You see, Sofia’s dad (uncle Marty), had just departed for work one day last week, leaving Sofia safe and sound in her comfortable home.  Or so he thought….  After her daddy had left for his day, Sofia was just getting situated on her favorite pillow, ready for a little morning siesta, when a large “pop”, interrupted her rest.

Immediately following the loud snap, a rock, (actually, a decorative lava rock), was hurled through the glass panes of uncle Marty’s French doors.  Sofia was shocked, and alarmed, and confused by the noises, and the flying, broken shards of glass.  As Sofia’s heart was resuming to normal speed, two strange men entered the property.

Just hearing my cousin recount this tale, has me in a tizzy!  My heart is beating twice it’s normal rhythm, and I’m feeling, uncharacteristically, angry, protective and afraid.  I asked sweet Sofia to take a moment before continuing her story, as I was beside myself with uncomfortable feelings.

Sofia continued recalling this fateful (and hateful?) day, and I cowered listening to her precise rendition of this memory.  Poor, sweet, Sofia!  She was so frightened by this invasion, that she cowered in a corner, and peed on her daddy’s hardwood floors.  This is an indecency that Sofia has not experienced since her youth, and she was mortified, compounded with being scared poopless (quite literally).

These thuggish troglodytes, after scaring Sofia into silent submission, proceeded to clear uncle Marty’s house of all valuables.  The big screen televisions, laptop computer, jewelry, and all precious mementos, gone….absconded by shifty shoplifters…demonic duffers, I tell you!

When uncle Marty returned home, after a full day of admonishing adolescents (he’s a Jr. High School Principal), he was confused when he entered his home and the alarm system was null.  In fact, the entire electrical grid of the house was dead.  It turns out, that the initial cacophony that Sofia heard, was the power system being manually cut.

I’m just a cognizant canine, and I know my limitations…but, how can anyone, with any decent, moral fiber, nonchalantly invade another person’s property?   In this dog’s world, the worst I see, in the canine community, is the occasional swiping of a treat.  That transgression in miniscule in comparison to what these marauders did to uncle Marty and Sofia.

Thankfully, the local police are on the case.   And, double-thankfully, Sofia was not harmed during this crime spree.  The CSI cats on the scene (not real felines… I’m just playing with some tough, Serpico lingo) told my uncle that he and Sofia are very fortunate, in that many of these hooligans harm any pet present, during their pilfering.  So scary!  My poor, sweet, scared, cousin Sofia, is now exhibiting symptoms of PTSD.  Seriously, she is having a tough time, which is completely understandable, but she is receiving therapy.

Uncle Marty now has a brand new, state-of-the-art security system.  And, God have mercy on any simpleton soul who has the misfortune of trying to infiltrate that fortress!  Not to mention, Sofia is enrolled in a doggie self-defense course.  I always thought of her as bad-ass, but now…watch out!

Ultimately, uncle Marty will be compensated for his loss, through his insurance.  And, more importantly, no one was injured, which is my main concern.  Please, dear readers, take good care of yourselves, and your neighbors.  I know I am going to be more diligent in my surveillance of my house and my neighborhood.  Peace, friends…

6 Comments

Filed under dogs

6 responses to “Scaring Sweet Sofia

  1. Poor, brave, lucky Sofia. Hope you’re over your PTSD soon. My roomie has a mild case today too as yesterday, while our house was being “shown” by real estate dudes, his prized retirement Mont Blanc fountain pen was purloined from his desk, as well as the antique Chinese brass lock. I know you can’t take it with you, but give us a break people. Pepi and I had our summer dos today too. We all need to drink lots of water as well. Hope is cools off as we miss the dog park too.

    • oh, Coco… please extend our sympathies to your human, Bill. it’s super crummy to get ripped off! but, we can’t let it cloud our naturally, optimistic view of the world…

  2. Uncle Marty

    Sofia has surprisingly enrolled herself in a special K9 protection program and once completed will be employed full time to guard the property with the expertise of a skilled marksman. While she is against violence, she did admit to sharpening her claws, and two of her teeth into razor sharp spears, just in case another felon tries to scale the walls of her fortress (Did she mention to you that she installed broken shards of glass along the fence line – not sure if its to keep the burglars out or the family cat Coal.) She is not afraid to use these weapons of mass destruction to protect the ones she loves. (And by “the ones she loves” she is referring to her new LED TV and BlueRay player.)
    Sofia has seriously been even more loving than ever and if she hears the slightest peep the entire block hears her new deeper, louder, scarier little bark. The break in has taught her to love more and continue enjoying every moment with her family, friends and loving cousin Atticus.

    • wow, uncle Marty! is there any chance I can join Sofia in her training program? I’m always looking to learn new skills. once we graduate, maybe Sofia and I could become a famous crime-stopping… like, Starsky & Hutch, or any of the teams from any of the numerous Law & Order franchises… just a thought…
      ps: she sounds really scary with her freshly, sharpened teeth & claws!

  3. Oh no Atti! Rudy and I were so sorry to hear about Sofia’s traumatic experience! Hope the police catch those horrible home invaders. Thank goodness Sofia is safe and being proactive in sharpening her self defense skills. Please pass on Rudy’s well wishes to her! Be safe Atti!

    • Thank you for your thoughts, Rudy & Renee. I will definitely pass your message along to Sofia. Poor girl just isn’t herself right now, and can use the encouragement.

Leave a comment